Radio stars honoured at Academy Awards

The Radio Academy Awards 2014

Veteran broadcaster Tony Blackburn was amongst the winner’s at yesterday’s Radio Academy Awards, which honoured the nation’s most popular radio presenters. The former BBC Radio 1 breakfast DJ marked 50 years on the airwaves with the Academy’s Gold Award, having already won the prize 25 years earlier.

BBC Radio 4 was the biggest winner on the night, scooping five prizes including Best Music Documentary, Best Drama and Best Comedy. Radio 1 took home three awards including Best Entertainment Show for Greg James, while evening host Zane Lowe was named Music Broadcaster of the Year for the fifth time.

The East Midlands got a special boost with Gem 106 presenters Sam Pinkham and Amy Voce beating Radio 2’s Chris Evans to win the Music Radio Personality of the Year gong.

Tony Blackburn commented on receiving his award  “I got my family together last week, and I said it’s probably time I spent more time with you at home.

“And they all said to me, ‘we’d rather you didn’t.’ So I’ve decided to go on for another 50 years.”

Champions Speakers has a fantastic selection of TV and Radio Presenters available for booking through our website. Browse through our personalities online or call 0207 1010 553.